Fundamentals for Software Engineers (Course No. 10)

Algorithms, Numeral Systems and Digital Concepts  

Fundamentals for Software Engineers

We know from experience: not everyone who knows a programming language is a computer scientist. Dealing with different types of algorithms, the use various numeral systems and Boolean concepts of digital technology are a must. Especially in the development of embedded systems, when writing software for microcontrollers, or in the implementation of FPGA projects using VHDL or Verilog, these issues play an important role.

This course provides the relevant fundamentals for computer scientists. Supported by practical examples and exercises, participants learn about advantages and disadvantages of linear and recursive algorithms, about pitfalls when using finite numbers, about applications of digital technology in the realisation of state machine in software, and a lot more.


Profile   

Date: on demand
Duration of the course: 2 days
Location: Dübendorf (near Zürich, Switzerland)
Language: German (English on request)
Price: CHF 1400, incl. documentation and lunch


Objectives   

The course is ideal for training as well as for brush up. Lots of practice-relevant examples illustrate the theoretical background. Participants will be able to directly apply the course subjects in everyday's work.


Contents   

Fundamentals for Software Engineers
  • Algorithms and algorithmic machines.
  • Microprocessor as algorithmic machine,
  • Notation of algorithms.
  • Linear and recursive algorithms.
  • Numeral Systems (decadic, binary, hexadecimal, octal).
  • Representation of negative numbers, complements.
  • Computations in numeral systems.
  • Finite numbers on microprocessors.
  • Common codes (Gray, ASCII, Unicode, etc.).
  • Boolean operators.
  • Boolean algebra and Karnaugh maps.
  • State machines.

Keywords are: algorithm, notation, formal languages, programming languages, recursion, number system, decimal, binary, hexadecimal, octal, complement, two's complement, addition, subtraction, multiplication, finite numbers, number circle, carry, borrow, overflow, registers, microprocessor, microcomputer system, BCD code, Gray code, ASCII code, Unicode, Boolean operators, NOT, AND, OR, XOR, Boolean algebra, reduction, Karnaugh map, Flip-Flop, state machines, UML, etc.


Prerequisites   

Basic experience in software development is an advantage. Computer exercises are prepared for the C and Java languages, but can also be solved in any other programming language.


Registration   

Please contact us if you are interested. Courses take place from one participant.

Please note: If you register more than one person at the same time for the same course we grant a 15 % discount for the second person and 20 % for the third and further individuals. The number of participants is limited. Registrations are processed in chronological order. If you cancel your registration until two weeks before the course starts, we will refund your full payment. For cancellations until three working days before the course starts we refund half of your payment. We reserve the right to cancel courses. In this case, we will refund fully already payed fees.

Grundlagen für Informatiker (Kurs Nr. 10)

Algorithmen, Zahlensysteme und Digitaltechnik  

Grundlagen für Informatiker

Die Erfahrung lehrt: Nicht jeder, der eine Programmiersprache kennt, ist ein Informatiker. Der Umgang mit verschiedenen Arten von Algorithmen, das Rechnen in diversen Zahlensystemen und Boolesche Konzepte aus der Digitaltechnik gehören zum Alltag des Informatikers. Speziell bei der Entwicklung von Embedded Systemen, beim Schreiben von Software für Mikrocontroller, oder bei der Realisierung von FPGA-Projekten in VHDL oder Verilog spielen diese Grundlagen eine wichtige Rolle.

Dieser Kurs vermittelt praktisches Basiswissen und bildet ein solides Fundament für den Alltag des effizienten Informatikers. Die Teilnehmer lernen anhand zahlreicher praktischer Beispiel Vorteile und Nachteile von linearen und rekursiven Algorithmen kennen, Fallstrick bei Rechnen mit endlichen Zahlen, und Anwendungsmöglichkeiten der Digitaltechnik in der Software-Entwicklung, usw.


Profil   

Datum: siehe Kurs-Hauptseite
Kursdauer: 2 Tage
Kursort: Dübendorf bei Zürich (Schweiz)
Sprache: Deutsch (Englisch auf Anfrage)
Kosten: CHF 1400, inkl. Unterlagen und Verpflegung


Ziel des Kurses   

Der Kurs eignet sich bestens für die Einarbeitung, Vertiefung und Weiterbildung, wie auch als Brush-Up. Zahlreiche praxisrelevante Beispiel erläutern die Theorie. Der Teilnehmer wird befähigt, das Erlernte direkt im beruflichen Alltag erfolgreich einzusetzen.


Inhalt und Themen   

Grundlagen für Informatiker
  • Begriff des Algorithmus, algorithmische Maschinen.
  • Notation von Algorithmen.
  • Lineare und Rekursive Algorithmen.
  • Zahlensysteme (dezimal, binär, hexadezimal, oktal).
  • Darstellung negativer Zahlen, Komplemente.
  • Rechnen in Zahlensystemen.
  • Endliche Zahlen auf Mikroprozessoren.
  • Alltägliche Codes (Gray, ASCII, Unicode, etc.).
  • Boolesche Operatoren.
  • Boolesche Algebra und Karnaugh Tafeln.
  • Zustandsmaschinen.

Stichworte sind: Algorithmus, Notation, formale Sprachen, Programmiersprachen, Rekursion, Zahlensystem, Dezimalsystem, Binärsystem, Dualsystem, Hexadezimalsystem, Oktalsystem, Komplement, Zweierkomplement, Addition, Subtraktion, Multiplikation, endliche Zahlen, Zahlenkreis, Carry, Borrow, Overflow, Überlauf, Register, Mikroprozessoren, Mikrocomputersysteme, BCD Code, Gray Code, ASCII Code, Unicode, Bool'sche Operatoren, NOT, AND, OR, XOR, Bool'sche Algebra, Reduktion, Karnaugh-Diagramme, State Maschinen, UML, etc.


Voraussetzungen   

Grundkenntnisse in der Software-Entwicklung sind von Vorteil. Computer-Übungen sind für die Sprachen C und Java vorbereitet, können aber in jeder Programmiersprache gelöst werden.


Anmeldung   

Bitte melden Sie sich per Email an unter Angabe der Kursbezeichnung, des Kursdatums, sowie Ihres Namens, Ihrer Adresse und Telefonnummer.

Bitte beachten Sie: Bei gleichzeitiger Anmeldungen mehrerer Personen für den selben Kurs gewähren wir 15 % Rabatt für die zweite Person und 20 % für die dritte und alle weiteren Personen. Die Teilnehmerzahl ist beschränkt. Anmeldungen werden in chronologischer Reihenfolge berücksichtigt. Bei Abmeldung bis zu zwei Wochen vor Kursbeginn erstatten wir den bezahlten Preis zurück. Bei Abmeldung bis zu drei Arbeitstagen vor dem Kurs erstatten wir die Hälfte des bezahlten Preises. Wir behalten uns das Recht vor, Kurse abzusagen. Bereits bezahlte Teilnahmegebühren erstatten wir in diesem Fall zurück.