Digital Signal Processing and Control (Course No. 20)

Module A: Fundamentals of Digital Filters and Control  

DSP - Module A

The acquisition, processing and analysis of measured sensor signals is a recurring and basic engineering task. Today it is common for engineers to apply the mighty and flexible methods of digital signal processing. They are often preferred over analog filter technology. The reasons for this are manifold. Among others, programmability, the communication capability of digital solutions and the total system costs play an important role.

The same criterions apply for control theory. Control engineering is signal processing under a slightly different aspect. In the analysis and synthesis of control loops engineers use identical theoretical and practical concepts. It makes therefore sense to cover signal processing and control together.

In this course, participants will learn to approach typical signal processing and control problems. Lots of practical examples and exercises will demonstrate how everyday engineering tasks are solved quickly and efficiently.


Profile   

SSP Courses

Date: on demand
Duration of the course: 3 days
Location: Dübendorf (near Zürich, Switzerland)
Language: German (English on request)
Price: CHF 1950, incl. documentation and lunch


Objectives   

The course is ideal for orientation, training and consolidation. An essential component of the course are the numerous practical examples and exercises about industrial applications, instrumentation , control systems, etc. The participant will be enabled to evaluate his professional tasks, to plan strategies and to implement them. He will be familiar with terms such as FIR and IIR filters, with PID controllers as well as the corresponding representations in time and frequency domains and knows about possible limitations.


Contents   

DSP - Module A
  • What are the characteristics and limitations of digital signals?
  • How do I calculate the spectrum of a signal or system?
  • How to evaluate the properties of analog and digital systems?
  • How do I assess the stability of a system or a control loop?
  • What is the difference between FIR and IIR filters?
  • How to calculate digital filter? What pitfalls are there?
  • How do I implement digital filters? What is a DSP? What is important?
  • Open or closed loop control? What is the difference?
  • What is a digital PID controller? How does it work?
  • how important are DSPs today?
  • How do I tune a digital controller? What rules are there?
  • What extensions to the PID controller are important in practice?
  • Practical exercises and computer simulations.

Keywords are: sampling, discrete representation, reconstruction, harmonic functions, spectral transforms (Fourier, Laplace, Z), impulse and step response, tranfer functions, digital filters, bilinear transform, FIR, IIR, filter design methods, digital control, open loop, closed loop controller, PID, rules for tuning, anti-windup, etc.


Prerequisites   

Basic experience in signal processing and control systems is an advantage. Mathematical skills are required (engineering level). Exercises are done on your own notebook computer.


Registration   

Please contact us if you are interested. Courses take place from one participant.

Please note: If you register more than one person at the same time for the same course we grant a 15 % discount for the second person and 20 % for the third and further individuals. The number of participants is limited. Registrations are processed in chronological order. If you cancel your registration until two weeks before the course starts, we will refund your full payment. For cancellations until three working days before the course starts we refund half of your payment. We reserve the right to cancel courses. In this case, we will refund fully already payed fees.

Digitale Signalverarbeitung und Regelungstechnik (Kurs Nr. 20)

Modul A: Grundlagen digitaler Filter und Regler  

DSP - Modul A

Das Erfassen, Aufbereiten und Analysieren von Mess- und Sensorsignalen ist eine immer wiederkehrende Grundaufgabe. Es ist heute üblich, dass Ingenieure dafür die mächtigen und flexiblen Methoden der digitalen Signalverarbeitung anwenden. Oft werden sie gegenüber der analogen Filtertechnik bevorzugt. Die Gründe dafür sind vielfältig. Nicht zuletzt sprechen die Programmierbarkeit, die Kommunikationsfähigkeit digitaler Lösungen und die Gesamtkosten dafür.

Die selben Argumente sind auf die Regelungstechnik anwendbar, denn Regelungstechnik ist Signalverarbeitung mit einer speziellen Betrachtungsweise. Bei der Analyse und Synthese von Regelkreisen benutzt man identische theoretische und praktische Konzepten. Es macht daher Sinn, Signalverarbeitung und Regelungstechnik gemeinsam zu betrachten.

Im Kurs lernen die Teilnehmer mit Hilfe zahlreicher praktischer Beispiele und Übungen die typischen Konzepte und Anwendungen der digitalen Signalverarbeitung und Regelungstechnik kennen. Es wird gezeigt, wie sich alltägliche Ingenieuraufgaben effizient und zielgerichtet lösen lassen.


Profil   

SSP Kurse

Datum: siehe Kurs-Hauptseite
Kursdauer: 3 Tage
Kursort: Dübendorf bei Zürich (Schweiz)
Sprache: Deutsch (Englisch auf Anfrage)
Kosten: CHF 1950, inkl. Unterlagen und Verpflegung


Ziel des Kurses   

Der Kurs eignet sich bestens für die Einarbeitung, Vertiefung und Weiterbildung. Einen wesentlichen Bestandteil bilden die zahlreichen, anschaulichen Praxisbeispiele und Übungen zu Themen aus Industrie, Messtechnik, Regelungstechnik, usw. Damit wird der Teilnehmer befähigt, in seinem Alltag Aufgabenstellungen einzuordnen, Lösungsstrategien zu entwerfen und umzusetzten. Er kennt sich aus mit Begriffen wie FIR- und IIR-Filter, mit PID-Reglern sowie den betreffenden Darstellungen im Zeit- und Frequenzbereich und ist sich der wichtigsten Limitierungen bewusst.


Inhalt und Themen   

DSP - Modul A
  • Was sind Eigenschaften und Grenzen digitaler Signale?
  • Wie berechnet man Spektren von Signalen und Systemen?
  • Wie beurteilt man die Eigenschaften von analogen und digitalen Systemen?
  • Wie macht man Aussagen über die Stabilität von Systemen und Regelkreisen?
  • Was ist der Unterschied zwischen FIR- und IIR-Filtern?
  • Wie berechnet man digitale Filter? Welche Fallstricke gibt es?
  • Wie implementiert man digitale Filter? Was ist ein DSP? Worauf ist zu achten?
  • Steuerung oder Regelung? Was ist der Unterschied?
  • Was ist ein digitaler PID-Regler? Wie funktioniert er?
  • Wie stellt man einen digitalen Regler ein? Welche Regeln gibt es?
  • Welche Erweiterungen zum PID-Regler sind in der Praxis wichtig?
  • Praxisnahe Computerübungen und Simulationen.

Stichworte sind: Abtastung, Diskretisierung, Rekonstruktion, harmonische Funktionen, Spektraltransformationen (Fourier, Laplace, Z), Impuls- und Schrittantwort, Übertragungsfunktionen, digitale Filter, Entwurfsverfahren, bilineare Transformation, FIR, IIR, Steuerung, digitale Regler, PID, Einstellregeln, Anti-Windup, etc.


Voraussetzungen   

Grundkenntnisse in Signalverarbeitung und Regelungstechnik für Ingenieure sind von Vorteil. Der Kurs setzt mathematische Kenntnisse voraus (Niveau Fachhochschule). Übungen werden auf dem eigenen Notebook gelöst.


Anmeldung   

Bitte melden Sie sich per Email an unter Angabe der Kursbezeichnung, des Kursdatums, sowie Ihres Namens, Ihrer Adresse und Telefonnummer.

Bitte beachten Sie: Bei gleichzeitiger Anmeldungen mehrerer Personen für den selben Kurs gewähren wir 15 % Rabatt für die zweite Person und 20 % für die dritte und alle weiteren Personen. Die Teilnehmerzahl ist beschränkt. Anmeldungen werden in chronologischer Reihenfolge berücksichtigt. Bei Abmeldung bis zu zwei Wochen vor Kursbeginn erstatten wir den bezahlten Preis zurück. Bei Abmeldung bis zu drei Arbeitstagen vor dem Kurs erstatten wir die Hälfte des bezahlten Preises. Wir behalten uns das Recht vor, Kurse abzusagen. Bereits bezahlte Teilnahmegebühren erstatten wir in diesem Fall zurück.