Information and Coding (Course No. 30)

Elements of Information, Source and Channel Coding  

Information and coding

Whenever you plan to transmit or store data, make sure you know what you're doing. Remember, there are no perfect transmission channels and no perfect storage devices. Errors happen. There is also the question of data compression: can I compress the contents of a data file down to one bit, in order to use my memory or my bandwidth more efficiently? And if that does not work, how far can I compress lossless?

Claude Shannon developed the fundamentals of the information theory in the 1940s. With its help, he was able to answer the above questions. Information in the technical sense now has a measure. Thus, we can describe the compression and transmission of date mathematically. This is the prerequisite for a successful application in practice.

In this course, participants will learn to approach typical coding problems including source and channel coding. Lots of practical examples and exercises will demonstrate how everyday engineering tasks are solved quickly and efficiently.


Profile   

Date: on demand
Duration of the course: 3 days
Location: Dübendorf (near Zürich, Switzerland)
Language: German (English on request)
Price: CHF 1950, incl. documentation and lunch


Objectives   

The course is ideal for orientation, training and consolidation. An essential component of the course are the numerous practical examples and exercises about typical industrial applications. The participant will be ready to evaluate his professional tasks, to plan strategies and to implement them. He will be familiar with the most important source and channel codes and will know about their limitations.


Contents   

Information and coding
  • Shannon's information.
  • Entropy und redundancy.
  • The source coding theorem.
  • Lossless and lossy data compression.
  • Examples: RLE, Huffman, Lempel Ziv, JPEG.
  • The channel coding theorem.
  • BSC transmission model.
  • Error detection and error correction.
  • Examples: CRC, Block Codes, Hamming, Faltungscodes.
  • Practical exercises and computer simulations.

Keywords are: information, entropy, average code length, redundancy, channel coding, entropy coding, run length encoding, Huffman code, LZ77, LZ78, LZW, JPEG, MJPEG, channel coding, foreward error correction, FEC, BSC, transmission channel, Hamming distance, block code, generator matrix, paritiy check matrix, syndrom, Hamming code, convolutional code, etc.


Prerequisites   

Basic experience in probability theory. Some mathematical skills are required. Exercises are done on your own notebook computer.


Registration   

Please contact us if you are interested. Courses take place from one participant.

Please note: If you register more than one person at the same time for the same course we grant a 15 % discount for the second person and 20 % for the third and further individuals. The number of participants is limited. Registrations are processed in chronological order. If you cancel your registration until two weeks before the course starts, we will refund your full payment. For cancellations until three working days before the course starts we refund half of your payment. We reserve the right to cancel courses. In this case, we will refund fully already payed fees.

Information und Codierung (Kurs Nr. 30)

Grundzüge des Informationsbegriffs, Quellen- und Kanalcodierung  

Information und Codierung

Wer Daten überträgt oder speichert sollte wissen, was er tut. Denn es gibt keine perfekten Übertragungskanäle und keine perfekten Datenspeicher. Es passieren Fehler. Ausserdem stellt sich die Frage nach der Komprimierung von Daten. Kann ich den Inhalt einer Datei auf ein Bit zusammen komprimieren um meinen Speicher oder meine Bandbreite effizienter zu nutzen? Und falls das nicht geht, wie weit kann ich komprimieren?

Claude Shannon entwickelte die Grundlagen der Informationstheorie in den 1940er Jahren. Mit ihrer Hilfe gelang es ihm die oben gestellten Fragen zu beantworten. Information im technischen Sinn ist seither messbar. Folglich lässt sich die Daten-Kompression und die Daten-Kommunikation mathematisch beschreiben.

Im Kurs lernen die Teilnehmer mit Hilfe zahlreicher praktischer Beispiele und Übungen die typischen Konzepte und Anwendungen der Informationstheorie kennen. Insbesondere werden bekannte Codes für die Quellen- und Kanalcodierung erläutert. Es wird gezeigt, wie sich alltägliche Ingenieuraufgaben effizient und zielgerichtet lösen lassen.


Profil   

Datum: siehe Kurs-Hauptseite
Kursdauer: 3 Tage
Kursort: Dübendorf bei Zürich (Schweiz)
Sprache: Deutsch (Englisch auf Anfrage)
Kosten: 3 Tage, CHF 1950 inkl. Unterlagen und Verpflegung


Ziel des Kurses   

Der Kurs eignet sich bestens für die Einarbeitung, Vertiefung und Weiterbildung. Einen wesentlichen Bestandteil bilden die zahlreichen, anschaulichen Praxisbeispiele und Übungen. Damit wird der Teilnehmer befähigt, in seinem Alltag Aufgabenstellungen einzuordnen, Lösungsstrategien zu entwerfen und umzusetzten. Er kennt sich aus mit den wichtigsten Quellen- und Kanal-Codes und ist sich der wichtigsten Limitierungen bewusst.


Inhalt und Themen   

Information und Codierung
  • Der Informationsbegriff von Shannon.
  • Entropie und Redundanz.
  • Das Theorem der Quellencodierung.
  • Verlustlose und verlustbehaftete Datenkompression.
  • Beispiele: RLE, Huffman, Lempel Ziv, JPEG.
  • Das Theorem der Kanalcodierung.
  • BSC Kanalmodell.
  • Fehlererkennung und Fehlerkorrektur.
  • Beispiele: CRC, Block Codes, Hamming, Faltungscodes.
  • Praxisnahe Übungen und Computersimulationen.

Stichworte sind: Information, Entropie, mittlere Codewortlänge, Redundanz, Quellencodierung, Entropiecodierung, Lauflängencodierung, Huffman Code, LZ77, LZ78, LZW, JPEG, MJPEG, Kanalcodierung, Fehlerschutzcodierung, FEC, BSC, Übertragungskanal, Coderate, Hammingdistanz, Block Code, Generatormatrix, Paritiycheckmatrix, Syndrom, Hamming Code, Faltungscode, etc.


Vorkenntnisse   

Grundkenntnisse in der Wahrscheinlichkeitsrechnung sind von Vorteil. Ausserdem setzt der Kurs mathematische Grundkenntnisse voraus. Übungen werden auf dem eigenen Notebook gelöst.


Anmeldung   

Bitte melden Sie sich per Email an unter Angabe der Kursbezeichnung, des Kursdatums, sowie Ihres Namens, Ihrer Adresse und Telefonnummer.

Bitte beachten Sie: Bei gleichzeitiger Anmeldungen mehrerer Personen für den selben Kurs gewähren wir 15 % Rabatt für die zweite Person und 20 % für die dritte und alle weiteren Personen. Die Teilnehmerzahl ist beschränkt. Anmeldungen werden in chronologischer Reihenfolge berücksichtigt. Bei Abmeldung bis zu zwei Wochen vor Kursbeginn erstatten wir den bezahlten Preis zurück. Bei Abmeldung bis zu drei Arbeitstagen vor dem Kurs erstatten wir die Hälfte des bezahlten Preises. Wir behalten uns das Recht vor, Kurse abzusagen. Bereits bezahlte Teilnahmegebühren erstatten wir in diesem Fall zurück.