Focus on Technology

Project Examples  

Our projects cover a broad range, from signal processing, control engineering, through algorithm development, hardware and software design, drive technology to system integration, embedded systems and industrial applications. Here are some examples from our daily practice.

Model Based Control  

Heat transfer

Project Definition

The surface temperature of a metal body is to be regulated in order to accurately and quickly follow a desired profile. The heater and temperature sensor are located at separate positions within the body. This causes a delay of the measurement , a so-called dead time.

Challenge

The control of processes with dead time is difficult. Conventional control structures (such as PID controllers) tend to overshoot or even become instable. A precise control is only possible if moving very slowly. Control accuracy and control speed are contradictory in this case.

Control loop

Solution

A numerical model of heat propagation in the body was inserted into the control loop. This so-called estimator or predictor calculates the surface temperature after a certain time, based on the actual temperature measurement and the heating current. Therefor the predictor can look into the future and thus bridges the dead time of the process.

Temerature curve

Result

By using the predictor the controller can predict the behavior of the process and thus responds without delay. The contradiction between control accuracy and control speed is dissolved. The surface temperature can be tracked accurately and quickly according to the desired profile.

The figure shows the predicted temperature (red), the measured value (blue) and the controller output (black). It is apparent that the controller reduces the heat output due to the predicted value as soon as the estimated temperature reaches the setpoint. Thus, the temperature will settle at the desired value very quickly and without disturbing overshoot.

Measuring System  

Project Definition

A measuring system shall capture up to 16 parallel channels with a sampling rate of 500 kHz at a 16 bit resolution. After that the captured data has to be processed and evaluated in real time. The customer also wanted a graphical display with touch screen for data visualization, ethernet and a web server for remote configuration of the system.

Challenge

A normal PC is not able to process these data in real time. Usually an array of specialized digital signal processors (DSPs) is used to meet the required sampling rate and data volume as well as the real-time processing specification. However, a typical DSP does not have interfaces nor support for ethernet, display and touch screen. Furthermore the use of a DSP requires its own tools and the corresponding expertise.

Solution

Instead of a DSP, a commercially available computer module was used. These modules are compact, inexpensive and have an exceptional processing power, depending on the type. An FPGA was used to automatically read from the ADC, perform the time-critical digital pre-processing in parallel threads and provide the data blockwise to the module, where they are further processed.

The hard real-time capability of the module is achieved through the use of Linux with a real-time extension, such as RTAI. In addition, Linux already includes complete ethernet capability, and a wide variety of support for display, touch screen, web servers, etc.

Result

Through the use of the computer module, hardware to be designed became much simpler. The module runs all software tasks, including signal processing, data visualization and the provision of webpages over ethernet. The software development under Linux was very efficient, because the operating system already provides lots of useful features and services like hardware abstraction, drivers, internal communication mechanisms, and many more.

The real-time extension makes it possible to cleanly isolate and prioritize the real-time system components from the rest of the software. This leads to transparent and stable code. Summing up, the use of a commercially available computer module running Linux led to a very flexible, future-oriented and cost-effective solution.

Fokus auf Technik

Projektbeispiele  

Unsere Projekte umfassen einen breiten Bereich. Von der Signalverarbeitung, Regelungstechnik, über Algorithmenentwicklung, Hard- und Softwaredesign, Antriebstechnik bis zur Systemintegration, Embedded Systemen und industriellen Applikationen. Nachfolgend präsentieren wir Ihnen einige Beispiele aus unserer Praxis.

Modellbasierte Regelung  

Wärmeausbreitung

Ausgangslage

Die Oberflächentemperatur eines Metallkörpers soll so geregelt werden, dass sie präzis und schnell einem gewünschten Profil folgt. Heizung und Temperatursensor sind im Festkörper jedoch örtlich getrennt, was eine Verzögerung der Messung (sogenannte Totzeit) zur Folge hat.

Schwierigkeit

Die Regelung von Prozessen mit einer Totzeit ist schwierig. Konventionelle Reglerstrukturen (z. B. PID-Regler) neigen in diesem Fall zu Überschwingungen oder sogar zu Instabilität. Eine genaue Ausregelung ist nur sehr langsam möglich. Regelgüte und Regelgeschwindigkeit widersprechen sich in diesem Fall.

Regelkreis

Lösung

In den Regelkreis wurde ein numerisches Modell der Wärmeausbreitung im Körper eingefügt. Dieser sog. Schätzer oder Predictor berechnet basierend auf der gemessenen Temperatur und der aktuellen Heizleistung die Oberflächentemperatur nach einer gewissen Zeit. Es wird also in die Zukunft geschaut und somit die Totzeit des Prozesses überbrückt.

Temperaturverlauf

Resultat

Mit Hilfe des Predictors kann der Regler das Verhalten des Prozesses vorhersehen und ohne Verzögerung reagieren. Dadurch wird der Widerspruch von Regelgüte und Regelgeschwindigkeit aufgelöst. Die Oberflächentemperatur kann exakt und schnell dem gewünschten Profil nachgeführt werden.

Die Abbildung zeigt den Schätzwert (rot), den Messwert (blau) und den Reglerausgang (schwarz). Man erkennt, dass der Regler auf Grund der Schätzung die Heizleistung reduziert, sobald die geschätzte Temperatur den Sollwert erreicht. Somit wird die Temperatur ohne störendes Überschwingen auf den Endwert gebracht.

Messsystem  

Ausgangslage

Ein Messsystem soll bis zu 16 parallele Kanäle mit einer Abtastrate von je 500 kHz bei 16 Bit Auflösung erfassen und anschliessend in Echtzeit verarbeiten und auswerten. Der Kunde wünscht ferner eine grafische Anzeige mit Touch Screen für die Visualisierung der Daten, sowie Ethernet und einen Webserver für die entfernte Konfiguration des Systems.

Schwierigkeit

Ein normaler PC kann die Daten nicht in Echtzeit verarbeiten. Für das Sampling derartiger Datenmengen und um die Echtzeitanforderungen zu erfüllen wird normalerweise ein Array von spezialisierten Digitalen Signalprozessoren (DSPs) eingesetzt. Ein typischer DSP verfügen aber über keine Interfaces und keine Unterstützung für Ethernet, Display und Touch Screen. Der Einsatz von DSPs verlangt eigene Tools und Spezialwissen.

Lösung

Statt einem DSP wurde ein handelsübliches Rechnermodul eingesetzt. Diese Module sind kompakt, kostengünstig und verfügen je nach Typ über eine beachtliche Rechenleistung. Ein FPGA liest selbsttätig die AD-Wandler aus, erledigt die zeitkritische digitale Vorverarbeigung durch Parallelisierung und stellt die Daten blockweise dem Rechner zur Verfügung, wo sie weiter verarbeitet werden.

Die harte Echtzeitfähigkeit des Moduls wird erreicht durch den Einsatz von Linux mit einer Echtzeiterweiterung wie RTAI. Ausserdem bietet Linux bereits von Haus aus komplette Ethernetfähigkeit, sowie vielfältige Unterstützung für Display, Touch Screen, Webserver, usw.

Resultat

Durch dem Einsatz des Rechnermoduls konnte die zu entwickelnde Hardware stark vereinfacht werden. Das Modul übernimmt sämtlich Softwareaufgaben, von der Signalverarbeitung bis zur Visualisierung der Resultate und dem Bereitstellen von Webseiten über Ethernet. Die Entwicklung der Software unter Linux verlief sehr effizient, da das Betriebssystem zahlreiche Funktionen und Dienste fertig zur Verfügung stellt, wie zum Beispiel die Abstraktion von Hardware, Treiber, interne Kommunikationsmechanismen, etc.

Insbesondere ermöglichte die Echtzeiterweiterung die saubere Isolierung und Priorisierung jener Systemkomponenten mit harten Echtzeitanforderungen vom Rest der Software. Dies führt zu Transparenz und Stabilität im Code. Insgesamt erwies sich der Einsatz eines handelsüblichen Rechnermoduls mit Linux als sehr flexible, zukunftsgerichtete und preiswerte Lösung.